470 National Championship 2017 & Qualifier #2 for the Oakcliff Triple Crown Series

470 National Championship 2017 & Qualifier #2 for the Oakcliff Triple Crown Series

Consistency Was King

OYSTER BAY, NEW YORK (June 24, 2017) – Consistency was king at the 470 National Championships; Wiley Rogers and Jack Parkin proved it with five wins across the seven-race series to land on top and be crowned number one for the second year in a row. This event also served as the second qualifier for the Oakcliff Triple Crown Series, which will see four more young Olympic hopefuls pass through to the final prize grant round.

Competitors were served a mixed bag of conditions over the two-day event. Fresh and steady breeze made for six solid races on Saturday but volunteers and officials had to work harder on Sunday to squeeze one last race out of late building pressure to give the fleet the most exciting contest yet. Complete with multiple lead changes and plenty of challenging tactical calls, the young team of Cormac Murphy and Adam Fried of the Oyster Bay 470 Team earned a win on their score line.

There were four female teams present out of eight. The cross-country trip paid off for one of them; Californians and sisters, Atlantic and Nora Brugman, trailed just points behind Wiley and Jack with a win on the board in race 1 and four consecutive second place finishes. With Oakcliff’s mission to support gender equality in the sport, the 50/50 split in this high-level event shows an encouraging trend. The Oakcliff Triple Crown Series, which kicks off July 22 – 23, will continue to showcase this group of young American men and women and will help to support them on their road to Tokyo 2020.

Overall Results:

Skipper Name/Crew Name: Race Results; Total, Drop Net

  1. Wiley Rogers/Jack Parkin: 2,1,1,1,1,1,4; 11.0, 4.0 0
  2. Atlantic Brugman/Nora Brugman: 1,4,2,2,2,2,3; 16.0, 4.0 0
  3. Cormac Murphy/Adam Fried: 3,3,4,3,3,5,1; 22.0, 5.0 0
  4. Alison Knoles/Audrey Franchett: 5,5,3,5,5,4,2; 29.0, 5.0 0
  5. Sarah de Silva/Julia Fuller: 4,2,7,9.0,4,3,8; 37.0, 9.0 0
  6. Caroline Martocci/Julianna Corso: 6,6,5,4,6,6,5; 38.0, 6.0 0
  7. Stephen Martocci/Lukas Corso: 7,7,6,9,7,7,6; 49.0, 9.0 40.0
  8. Maxwell Lawrence/Nick Patin: 9,9,9,9,9,9,7; 61.0, 9.0 0

470M National Champions:
Wiley Rogers + Jack Parkin

470W National Champions

Atlantic Brugman + Nora Brugman

Qualifying through to the Oakcliff Triple Crown Series:
Wiley Rogers/Jack Parkin
F.Stephen Martocci/Lukas Corso
Atlantic Brugman + Nora Brugman
Alison Knoles + Audrey Franchett

The Oakcliff Triple Crown Series is an unprecedented effort to reward the hard work and talent of Olympic hopefuls with prize grants that will help fund their campaigns. These grants are the largest in history and will go towards costs associated with making an Olympic dream a reality.

Oakcliff Sailing is a non-profit coaching and training center for sailors who have progressed beyond traditional coaching methods. The center can be contacted by email at race@oakcliffsailing.org or by calling (516) 802-0368.