Oakcliff Halloween Invitational Race Report

Oakcliff Halloween Invitational Race Report

Racers traveled from all over to attend the 2nd annual Oakcliff Halloween Regatta in Oyster Bay, NY. The teams hailed from Canada, the USVI, California, Massachusetts, Connecticut, and New York. Racing was intense, as were the conditions.

On Saturday, the first day of racing, temperatures on the east coast dropped sharply and the wind kicked up. The day started with 17kts of wind, gusting to 22, and continued to build. Sleet precipitation followed and visibility was further challenged by an eerie mist caused by the combination of very cold air and warm water.  The race committee did an excellent job of getting in two flights, then appropriately canceled further racing for the day. Before the boats reached the moorings, wind speeds increased further – gusting into the 30’s.

On Sunday, the race committee successfully squeezed in the rest of the flights. As predicted, the racing was intense and the top three spots were determined in the last race of the regatta – Quaglio vs Rathbun. Quaglio was undefeated and Rathbun had one loss. Komar and Wickwire had two losses each. If Quaglio won the final race he would win the regatta and Rathbun, Wickwire, and Komar would tie – with Komar winning the tiebreaker and taking 2nd place. However, Rathbun won the final match vs Quaglio landing him the 1st place trophy. Quaglio took 2nd, and Komar took 3rd.

This 2nd running of the Oakcliff Halloween Invitational was one of Oakcliff’s most exciting events yet – with racing coming down to the wire and appropriately eerie weather. Here are the results

1. Colin Rathbun 6 wins – USVI
2. Michael Quaglio 6 wins – USA, NY
3. Mike Komar 5 wins – USA – NY
4. Peter Wickwire 5 wins – Canada
5. David Storrs 2 wins – USA, CT
6. Magnus Sandberg 2 wins – Canada
7. Michael Rivlin 1 win – USA, CA
8. Christopher Land 1 win – USA, MA

Thanks to all the competitors, volunteers, officials and umpires that made this fantastic event possible.

Race officers:

Vicky Jo Neiner – PRO
Chris Crockett
Amanda Downing
Ann Mitchell
Sue DiSanti
Betsy Altman
Nelson Macann
Katie Mooney
Todd Sparling
Chris Dundon
David Pelling  – Chief Umpire
Bruce Cook
Bob Duffy
Cliff Black
Henrik Pedersen
Phil Pape
Bruce Brown
David and Mrs. Storrs
Thom and Francine Hering
Albert Hildebrandt
Dawn Riley
Joni Simon
Liz Roosevelt
Oakcliff Team: