Cali Kids Win Spot in US Match Race Champs

Cali Kids Win Spot in US Match Race Champs

Jeffery Petersen from Balboa Yacht Club wins the third David Storrs Memorial Qualifier, qualifying him for the USMRC. Pearson Potts came in second right behind him, but not without a strong fight. In the petite finals, Peter Wickwire won the first to two over Dave Perry, leaving him in 3rd place overall and Perry in 4th.

The David Storrs Memorial Qualifier is held in honor of Match Racing enthusiast, champion, and long-time Oakcliff supporter, David Storrs, who passed away in 2019. Eight teams fought to qualify for the US Match Racing Championship which will be held here at Oakcliff in October.

Teams saw heavy conditions all weekend. “It was hard work… really hard work”- Dave Perry. Saturday was rainy and fairly windy with 12 knots in the morning and 16 in the afternoon. The rain did make for a beautiful double rainbow that competitors saw on their way in. Saturday was good preparation for Sunday, which saw winds in the 20s and chaotic downwinds.

Solid gusts into the high 20s made for sporty semifinals and finals and some spectacular spinnaker mishaps. After the 10th flight, the race committee put up the Z flag, signaling no spinnakers. The finals were super competitive. Jeffery Petersen won the first two races over Pearson Potts, but Potts made a strong comeback in flight 12 and 13. It came down to a sudden death between him and Petersen. In the final race, Petersen won the start with better acceleration at the last minute. The wind continued picking up to gusts in the high 20s; Petersen rounded the gate only a boat length ahead of Potts. After an intense race Petersen ended up taking the win and the regatta!

“It was a very cold day today [Sunday] however the racing was sporty. Hard conditions get in the head of every sailor and battling one another today forced us all to keep mind over matter, our heads in the game, and forward thinking. The sailing game always happens 30 seconds before the boat and 30 minutes before going out. Dress warm”- Nick Barta, Peter Bailey’s team.

A special thanks to each and every one of our volunteers: CHUMP Bruce Cook, Umpires: Rob Overton, Sue Reilly Nancy Glover, Phil Pape, Cliff Black, David Bruyea Craig Daniels, Paul Gilman  Ray Groble.  Race Committee: Don Wieneke, Mo Wieneke,   Susan Hansen Fredericks, Linda Lane,  TJ Shea and  Betsy Perry! BIMBOS: Larry Kennedy, George Ellis, and many many more! And of course our new Race Director Patrice Patrice Gallo Rachlin. Their dedicated efforts made all of this weekend’s racing possible.

Check out Oakcliff’s Facebook page for play-by-plays on all the action, and Instagram for pictures from the event thanks to Peter Taylor.


  1.  Jeffrey Petersen
  2.  Pearson Potts
  3.  Peter Wickwire
  4.  Dave Perry
  5.  Peter Bailey
  6.  Ruairi Finnegan
  7.  Cormac Murphy
  8. Alfonso Garcia Bringas

Oakcliff has a full season of match racing planned for the summer, with regattas nearly every weekend and a World Match Racing Tour Academy program in August.